Misnomer Up/Close “Dance-Making Series” with RAWdance #1

full calendar

March 18

MDTUpCloseDanceSeriesRAW

UPDATE: Watch the video from the event here

Can dances be made virtually? New York City-based Misnomer Dance Theater and RAWdance are teaming up for a series of experiments in cross-country, real-time dance-making to find out. And you’re invited to watch, live!

There will be three events throughout the Spring, all broadcast live via Google Hangouts on Air. For the first session, Chris Elam, Artistic Director of Misnomer, will be choreographing a piece in real-time on RAWdance’s Co-Artistic Directors Wendy Rein and Ryan T. Smith. Chris, with Misnomer dancers Coco Karol and Lily Shapiro, will be creating the piece in SoHo, while Ryan and Wendy learn remotely in San Francisco.

WATCH LIVE MARCH 18TH at 10:30am PST / 1:30PM EST HERE: http://GoSee.Do/dancemaking
No fancy equipment needed. Just click the play button on the link above, and you’ll be in on the action. 

Tune in to watch and get an inside look at the creative process, or learn along with Ryan and Wendy and post your video to the project!

After 30 minutes of dance-making and learning, Wendy and Ryan will perform what they’ve learned from Chris. A 10-minute discussion between all the artists will follow, talking about their initial impressions on the session. Then everyone who’s tuned in to watch will have a chance for a live, online Q&A with the artists.

If you’re a dancer watching this hangout, WE WANT YOU to:
1) UPLOAD your video publicly to Youtube
2) SHARE on your Facebook, Twitter and Vimeo accounts
3) TAG with the hashtag #MisnomerUpClose

Mark your calendars for the next two sessions, when RAWdance turns the tables on Misnomer!
Wednesday, April 30th at 12:30pm PST / 3:30pm EST
Tuesday, May 27th at 10:30am PST / 1:30pm EST

Times:

10:30am PST / 1:30pm EST
Tuesday, March 18

Tickets:

FREE