Misnomer Up/Close “Dance-Making Series” with RAWdance #2

full calendar

April 30

MDTUpCloseDanceSeriesRAW

Can dances be made virtually? New York City-based Misnomer Dance Theater and RAWdance are teaming up for a series of experiments in cross-country, real-time dance-making to find out. And you’re invited to watch, live!

There will be three events throughout the Spring, all broadcast live via Google Hangouts on Air. For the second session, RAWdance’s Co-Artistic Directors Wendy Rein and Ryan T. Smith set a short piece in real-time on two of Misnomer’s dancers, Coco Karol and Lily Shapiro. RAWdance will be at a studio San Francisco, Misnomer will be in SoHo, and you can be anywhere! (Check out the video from session #1 here.) Tune in for an inside look at the creative process, or learn along with Lily and Coco and post your video to the project.

WATCH LIVE APRIL 30 AT 12:30PM PST / 3:30PM EST HERE: http://GoSee.Do/dancemaking2
No fancy equipment needed. Just click the play button on the link above, and you’ll be in on the action. Video will be available on the same page shortly after the live event.

After 30 minutes of dance-making and learning, Misnomer’s dancers will perform what they’ve learned from RAWdance. A 10-minute discussion between all the artists will follow, talking about their initial impressions on the session. Then everyone who’s tuned in to watch will have a chance for a live, online Q&A with the artists.

If you’re a dancer watching this hangout, WE WANT YOU to:
1) UPLOAD your video publicly to Youtube
2) SHARE on your Facebook, Twitter and Vimeo accounts
3) TAG with the hashtag #MisnomerUpClose

Mark your calendars for the other two sessions:
Tuesday, March 18th at 10:30am PST / 1:30pm EST
Tuesday, May 27th at 10:30am PST / 1:30pm EST

Times:

12:30pm PST / 3:30pm EST
Wednesday, April 30

Tickets:

FREE